St Ambrose Barlow RC High School

St Ambrose Barlow RC High School


St Ambrose Barlow is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare and safety of all students and expects all staff to share this commitment. We strive to ensure that consistent and effective safeguarding procedures are in place to support families, pupils and staff at school.  We listen to our pupils and take seriously what they tell us.

All school staff are trained in Child Protection. Children are made aware of the adults they can talk to if they have any concerns and know their key adult in school. Staff are trained to look out for signs of physical/emotional harm or neglect and are required to report these to the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL). All staff are aware of the designated safeguarding staff should the DSL not be available.

The procedures which we follow have been laid down by the Salford Safeguarding Board and the school has adopted a Child Protection Policy in line with this, for the safety of all. On the rare occasions our concerns regarding a child may mean that we have to consult other agencies to gain advice and/or support. We will ensure that all concerns are discussed with parent/carers first, before any referrals are made, unless we believe that such a move may be contrary to a child’s welfare.

The Designated Safeguarding Lead is Anna Goddard (Director of Education/Assistant Headteacher).

 The Designated Person for Looked After Children (LAC) is Robert Jordan (Assistant Headteacher)

The Additional Safeguarding Leads are Ben Davis (Headteacher),  Vicky Knipe (Deputy Head) & Nick Irwin (Assistant Headteacher). The Deputy Safeguarding Officer is Sarah Moynihan. Staff who are Level 3 Safeguarding trained are; Graham Healey (Head of Year 7), Morgan Prady (Head of Year 9), John Pemberton (Head of Year 10) and Anna Toon (head Of Year 11).

Additional assistant Headteacher who are level 3 safeguarding trained include; Gareth Jones (SENDCO/Assistant Headteacher – Designated Mental Health Lead), Rebecca Tulloch (Assistant Headteacher), Katie O’Leary (Assistant Headteacher).

Additional staff trained in Safeguarding are, Lauren Frost, Leah Statham, Gemma Riley and Nikki White.

The school adheres to the following three DFE safeguarding documents:

  • Working Together to Safeguard Children 2022
  • Keeping Children Safe in Education 2023
  • The Prevent Duty 2015

The school has a suite of Safeguarding documents which are reviewed regularly. These can be found below.

Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy  Safeguarding Policy for Pupils 

Child Sexual Exploitation Policy  

Looked After Children Policy 

Prevent Duty & British Values Policy 

Safer Recruitment Policy

Suicide Prevention Policy 

Child On Child Abuse Policy - Sept 2023

Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment Between Pupils Policy - Sept 2023

Searching and Confiscating Policy

Transgender Guidance - Oct 2023

Department of Education Guidance to Schools on Sexual Violence and Sexual Harassment Between Children

Operation Encompass

Response to Reports of Sexual Abuse

Safeguarding Flowchart