St Ambrose Barlow RC High School

St Ambrose Barlow RC High School


St Ambrose Barlow RC High School is a Roman Catholic Secondary School provided by the Diocese of Salford and is maintained by the Salford Local Education Authority as a Voluntary Aided School. The school’s Governing Body is the Admissions Authority and is responsible for taking decision on applications for admission. For the school year commencing September 2021, the Governing Body has set its planned admissions number at 210.

The Governors recognise that the first responsibility of the school is to serve the Roman Catholic community for which it has been established. This is focused on the designated parish communities and the Roman Catholic primary schools that are partners in providing for those communities. In establishing their oversubscription criteria, the Governors have also taken full account of the Code of Practice produced by the Department for Education and the emphasis placed on supporting children in public care.

The nominated parish communities served by the school are:

1. St Marks, Pendlebury, Swinton, M27 6BY (St Ambrose Barlow)
2. St Luke’s, Irlam o’th Height, Salford, M6 7WR (Our Lady of Hope)
3. St Peter and St Paul, Salford, M6 8JR (Our Lady of Hope)
4. St Mary’s, Swinton, M27 4UR (St Ambrose Barlow)
5. St Charles, Swinton, M27 9PD (St Ambrose Barlow)
6. St Edmunds, Little Hulton, M38 9ND (Holy Trinity)
7. Christ the King, Walkden, M28 3LN (Holy Trinity)

The partner primary schools are:

St Marks, Queensway, Clifton, Swinton, M27 8QE
St Luke’s, Swinton Park Road, Salford M6 7WR
St Mary’s, Milner Street, Swinton, M27 4AS
St Charles, Moorside Road, Swinton, M27 9PD
St Edmund’s, Little Hulton, M38 0WH
Christ the King, Walkden, M28 3DW

Secondary admissions - Closing on 31 October 2020

Admission Criteria September 2021

How to Apply

Name: School Admissions Team

Address: Salford Civic Centre, Chorley Road, Swinton M27 5AW

Telephone: 0161 793 2500

Contact Online at: School Admissions Team

For further information regarding the admission arrangements through the local authority: